Categories
Uncategorized

Work Experience Day 4

Yesterday, I finished day 4 of my work experience with UK STEM. It was great!

I didn’t have a meeting at 9 o’clock today, instead I finished my project page on flying nanobots which is a new activity for the Global STEM award. I am pleased with the result and had some positive feedback from Beckie in our 10:45 meeting that I asked for to get some help with the website reviews.

My first meeting was at 10am where we talked about a new intern coming to the company. I mainly sat in on this one as Mike and one of the project managers discussed what projects the intern was going to undertake and how big they were going to be. It was very interesting and I understood most of it, although not all. It ended earlier than expected (at about 10:20) so I had some spare time on my hands where I took a short break.

After this, I met with Beckie and we discussed the questions I should be asking about company websites to try and analyse their career pages. This helped me a lot and I reformatted my work into a table and then carried on. I spent most of the day dong this – with a break for lunch – and then went to my meeting at 4pm.

This is a snapshot of my project page for flying nanobots as it looks so far!

This was a meeting about smart materials and it lasted so long I can’t even remember what we talked about at the beginning! Despite this, it was really fun and the visitor from Redcar (Joseph Birks) was really nice. We looked at the sheets Mike had prepared for primary school children detailing some facts about smart materials and what they could do with them and moved on to puzzling over whether magic snow could irritate skin or not. Carbon fibre sheets were also tossed around because we didn’t know how much toxic gas they produced (if any) which they’re going to check out before next week. Eventually, at 6pm, the meeting ended because we all had our own things to do, though not before I learnt that you could make a paper clip whiz round the outside of a battery. Unfortunately, I haven’t tried this out yet.

Yesterday was fun and I learnt lots of new things! I hope other days can be the same.

Goodbye!

By Emma Bowen

I'm currently doing virtual work experience with UK STEM (2020) and this is a blog site all about that!

Leave a comment