Categories
Uncategorized

Work Experience Day 1

My first day of work experience with UK STEM is now coming to a close and it’s been an amazing day!

Firstly, at 9:00 I had a meeting with Beckie Cargill who was a great help and is an associate at the company. She answered all my questions in detail and supported me when I asked for extra meetings. Then, I got to know the crumble and this was when I made my beloved police car. I had used the program a little beforehand (because the package arrived early) but I really polished off some of my sparkle and motor skills in this period whilst trying out the sensor.

The next order of business was setting up this site, which I ran a little late on but caught up soon enough. WordPress was really easy to set up and I thank the team for their suggestion. I have tried other website programs before but always struggle to find my ideal layout.

After this, I set out on the adventure of creating a new water feature for the Crumble Cookbook 2. My initial idea was to make a light-up water fountain and I started off with just the pump in a tray of water, wired up to the crumble and battery. A simple go command was enough to make it shoot into the air and seeing this I knew my idea could work. Then, I added some sparkles (LEDs) on a tray with bubble-wrap folded over them underneath. Luckily, the bubble-wrap worked and I didn’t harm any of them.

Next, I knew I had to look for something for the water to flow over so I went to my recycling pile and retrieved a handy-looking lemonade bottle. I cut it in half and put the pipe – which I had already put on the pump – through the top. I also made a hole in the side to be able to link up the pump wires. However, it wouldn’t stay straight and went really slowly. I think this was because I didn’t cut the pipe so I finally made the decision to do so. Then, it worked better but still wouldn’t stay straight, which meant it dragged the pump over and looked rather odd. So, I was back on the hunt for a holder.

The kitchen seemed like a good place to start so I went into mine and soon found a funnel. “Everyone has a funnel,” I thought “so if this works then everyone can build it, which is good.” I walked back over to experiment and it fit the pipe perfectly! This meant I had to put the wire out the bottom not the side but this still worked well. Lastly, I walked back over to my computer and programmed the crumble to switch the lights on and off for a cool effect.

Finally, I plugged it back into the circuit, turned it on and voilà! It worked! I am really happy how it has turned out so far and hope to add some more challenging features to the code tomorrow.

I then realised I could take the motor out of the forever loop so it didn’t keep being reminded of what it was already doing.

Goodbye for today!

By Emma Bowen

I'm currently doing virtual work experience with UK STEM (2020) and this is a blog site all about that!

2 replies on “Work Experience Day 1”

Hello from across the pond. Kudos to you on your day 1 achievements, Emma. I commend you for sharing your learnings & experience here. I love the creativity with household items. Way to go. Nice catch & fix for the infinite\forever loop. Looks like good fun! Can’t wait to see what you do next with the water feature. Keep up the great work!

Liked by 1 person

Emma, it’s great to see you’re enjoying the virtual work experience during the covid pandemic. You’re making a superb contribution to our business and I hope you find teh next few days as good as the first few!

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment